Meet my Skin Tight…Fight Director!

Name:

Dan StylesDan Styles

Role within Company:

Fight Director

Your Background?

I began my professional career as an actor, but always had links to the ‘combat’ world whether through fencing, or re-enactment, or just playing Jedi knights in my mate’s back garden. I trained in all the disciplines of stage combat through 2003-4 and then went on to work in many productions involving fights. I began to build up a good deal of experience in fight performance and choreography and soon made the decision to take a teaching apprenticeship with the British Academy of Dramatic Combat. Since completing that my work as a fight director, teacher and performer has really taken off.

How did you get involved with Skin Tight?

I had connections with both Angie (Angela Bull) and Jemma (Gross – Director), both through combat. Angie and I met on a swashbuckling workshop on the Golden Hinde ship, we literally got quite close when in one fight scene I had to fall on top of her. I met Jemma, also at a workshop, when she was working with another combat teacher colleague of mine. Later when Jemma was looking for someone to help with the R&D for Skin Tight and I volunteered as an actor and ‘under reader’. My involvement really went from there.

Favourite memory of rehearsals/show/tour from last year?

I have two if I’m allowed? The first was in one fight rehearsal where we’d just set a small fight from around the middle of the play, there’s a moment where Jonny hits Angie in the face and it was so realistic (due to their great performances) Jemma shrieked in shock. I still have a video of that.

DSC_1621My second is putting Angie and Jonny through their paces in the park when I created a warm up session for them to use throughout rehearsals. It was quite intense. He he he.

What are you up to at the moment?

(At time of writing) As a fight director I currently have a show playing at the Soho Theatre – ‘Pastoral’. I just completed choreographing ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ for a national tour with GB Theatre Company and I’m about to have a production called ‘Tomorrow I’ll be Happy’ play at the National Theatre, which is very exciting.

The next production I’m working on is a feature film called ‘Fear of Water’ starring Lily Loveless (‘Skins’) shooting throughout July.

I will also be teaching a workshop for Independent Drama in July on fighting in film. More details at www.independentdrama.com

Tom and Elizabeth share a lot of their own memories in the play what’s your favourite childhood memory?

A pivotal memory in my childhood was learning to ride a bike. My Dad would hold onto my seat and run along behind me, he’d let go without me knowing and I’d be doing it on my own until I realised he’d let go and panic and crash. There were some cuts and bruises along the way, but I kept getting up and eventually I got it. Now I go everywhere on my bike and I still never give up.

“first time i have ever worked on a fight where the weapon starts inside the body!” My favourite quote from Dan 2012

Knife work

 

Buy your ticket to Skin Tight here

Sponsor Skin Tight here

Check out Epsilon Productions here

Leave a Reply

